The Beginning of the End

images(image from slopeofhope.com)

Rejoice greatly, O daughter Zion!
Shout aloud, O daughter Jerusalem!
Lo, your king comes to you;
triumphant and victorious is he,
humble and riding on a donkey…
-Zechariah 9:9

Yesterday was Palm Sunday, marking Jesus’ triumphal entry into Jerusalem.

On a donkey.

The crowd didn’t seem to notice the donkey…they just noticed HIM. Looked to Him to be their new King. Expected Him to change everything.

And He did.

Only not the way they imagined it. But I’m getting ahead of the story.

Several years ago, something stuck out to me in the Palm Sunday story that has stayed with me ever since. Some in the crowd laid their cloaks down on the ground. Something about shedding the outer layer made me swallow hard. To hail the King, they removed their protection, and laid down those garments as a “red carpet” for Jesus. I wonder what became of those clothes. The donkey walked on them…perhaps even shat on them! I like to think those cloaks stayed on the ground, never to be picked up again.

And so I come to Holy Week asking if there is some outer layer I could shed to welcome my King. And if so, will I lay it down completely and let Him trample on it?

I pray so.

2 thoughts on “The Beginning of the End

Leave a Reply

