This Year It’s “Gal-entine’s Day”

8465711750_d0b8af7ef5(image from alifeworthsomething.wordpress.com)

I didn’t know until recently that this was a thing — February 13 has become “Galentine’s Day,” a day for women to celebrate their friendships with each other, whether they are married, single, or somewhere in between. But I decided to skip the official day and make today, the 14th, MY Galentine’s Day.

V-Day has been problematic for me from the beginning. I lived in the pre-PC days where you didn’t have to bring cards for everyone in the class. I would always get cards from boys I didn’t like. (Once I received a homemade one that clearly took the kid hours, but I was 10 and he had cooties. I wish I could go back and appreciate the effort more. Morgan, if you’re out there, thank you. You deserved better.) And of course I wouldn’t get cards from the ones I liked/loved.

Then there was freshman year in college when so many girls on my floor got dozens of red roses delivered. None for me. *sigh* It’s funny, but 364 days of the year, red roses do little for me — I prefer yellow, lavender, fire-and-ice — but on Feb. 14, they need to be red. Or at least one red rose tucked in among the others. (Is this really all that complicated?)

Fast forward many years later, and V-Day became the source of some very deep pain which is not fit for public consumption. After fumbling around and adding salt to the wounds for several years, we talked last year about creating our own version of V-Day on Feb. 26 (the date of our engagement) and skipping the dreaded 14th. 

Nice idea, but it never happened.

This year, newly single, I decided to take the bull by the horns. I could wallow in all the disappointing V-days gone by, and/or wallow in being alone this year, or I could make this a day worth remembering. First thing I did was call the Children’s Hospital in Oakland and find out what I could do to help. What they really needed were cards, so I faced my V-day demons and went shopping for some boxes of cards for the kids. I hope they put a smile on the kids’ faces today. 

In a little while, I’m going to be getting the deluxe treatment at Cosmo Spa Lounge, with their “Rehab Mani-Pedi” which includes the usual stuff plus scrubs and hot towels and lotions and massage. (Oh my!) I’ll probably add a paraffin dip on my hands as it helps the arthritis feel better. What puts this over the top is that my Godparents (new name for my in-laws) are treating me to this. I’m not sure if there’s ever been kinder, more thoughtful gesture.

Then this evening, I’m having a few single gals over for my first Galentine’s party. We will range from mid-20s to me. 🙂 I’ve gotten used to be the oldest in the room, and these gals keep me young. With no men around, I figured some kind of beef was in order (*giggle*) and since I haven’t eaten any red meat in over a month, this will be a treat. (London Broil Caesar Salad to the rescue!) And chocolate truffles, of course. 

1965011_889677547749897_7954715708163348516_n

(I made these and there’s hardly any sugar; I blended 70% and 85% cacao (organic chocolate) with healthy coconut oil and coconut milk instead of butter and cream. The darkest ones are boozy with Grand Marnier and rolled in a little brown sugar which has dissolved into the chocolate. Do I know how to party or what?)

We’ll eat, be merry, maybe even watch a chick flick or two. And celebrate womanhood and friendship…

…and the love of Jesus, who is truly the BEST Valentine there is. Like the song says, “Your love never fails, never gives up, never runs out on me.”  I’m focusing on THAT today more than anything! Along with “I am my Beloved’s and He is mine…”

Whatever you’re doing or not doing today, know that YOU ARE LOVED.

you-are-loved(image from elephantjournal.com)

Leave a Reply

